Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Hockey Queensland announces Life Member & Distinguished Service Award winners in 2024

Published Tue 07 May 2024

Hockey Queensland is thrilled to announce their latest award winners for service to hockey in Queensland. 

The recipients were announced and awarded at the recent Hockey Queensland Annual General Meeting in conjunction with the Hockey Queensland Championship (HQC) in Brisbane.

Hockey Queensland congratulates these incredible members of our community and thanks them for their dedication to our sport. 

Life Membership – Steve Stewart 
Association – Toowoomba 

  • President of Toowoomba Hockey Association for 6 years
  • Joined the Hockey Queensland Board in 2015 initially to fill a casual vacancy 
    Steve became President in 2016 where he led Hockey Qld in the role until 2023
  • Steve guided Hockey Qld to an era with contemporary governance and innovation
  • He was responsible for ensuring Hockey Qld navigated Covid-19 with financial resilience 
  • Steve fostered strong relationships with Hockey Australia and other MA’s leading the Whole of Sport Strategic Plan working group
  • Steve remains committed to hockey as a member of the Hockey One Board  

Life Membership - Joanne Greensill
Association – Sunshine Coast 

  • Developed Queensland Officials initially as an Umpire Coach, and then through Technical Officiating
  • Jo’s personal officiating career included appointments to two Commonwealth Games, an Indoor World Cup and the inaugural Hockey5’s World Cup
  • She was a long standing member of the Qld Technical Committee before becoming Chair
  • As a leader in Technical Officiating she has guided Associations to develop their own Tech Officials and has helped many go on to represent Queensland and Australia
  • She has been appointed TO and TD to many National Championships and continues to contribute to hockey today.  


Distinguished Service Award  - Denis Tierney
Association – Ipswich 

  • A commitment to hockey spanning four decades
  • Sacrificing personal holidays to ensure smooth operation of Ipswich Hockey, especially during the hosting of State Championships
  • Involvement with club committees, coaching, Judicial Committees and executive of Ipswich Hockey Association
  • Management of the grounds and the complex especially during turf replacements, redevelopments and lighting installations
  • Has provided great care and commitment to providing the best facilities for not only the local community but during State Championships.  

Distinguished Service Award  - Greg Richards
Association – Sunshine Coast 

  • Involvement in hockey extends to Sunshine Coast, Toowoomba and Brisbane Associations.  
  • Inaugural High Performance Coach with the QAS
  • Remarkable success coaching State Teams from 1989 -1993
  • Coached players such as Debbie Sullivan, Tracey Belbin, Jenn Morris, and Renita Garard
  • Selector for Women’s Open teams and Men's U15 teams
  • Greg has represented Qld across various age groups
  • He continues to develop talent at the Sunshine Coast
  • Continues to serve as the Chair of the HP Committee